Food & Restaurant franchises: costs, fees and investment
Short answer: Across 1213 brands in the SelectFranchiseList database (compiled October 2026), the median minimum initial investment is $297,082 and the median starting franchise fee is $35,000. The lowest starting investment in this group is Bento Sushi at $2,600.
Food and restaurant franchises include quick-service, fast-casual, full-service, coffee, dessert and bakery concepts. They usually carry the highest build-out and equipment costs in Item 7 and depend on hourly staff and long opening hours.
What do franchises in this group cost?
Franchises in this group have a median minimum investment of $297,082, a median starting franchise fee of $35,000 and a median liquid cash requirement of $80,000, calculated from 1213 brands in the SelectFranchiseList database. Medians use the low end of each brand's reported range.
Which franchises are on the list?
The table sorts 1,213 franchises from the lowest to the highest starting investment, 100 per page. This page shows brands 1201 to 1213.
| Franchise | Franchise fee | Total investment | Min. cash | US units |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BrewDog | $50,000 | $3,363,500 to $5,730,500 | $790,000 | 8 |
| Benihana | $40,000 | $3,405,200 to $6,250,000 | $825,000 | 77 |
| Golden Corral | $50,000 | $3,557,604 to $8,738,837 | $970,000 | 351 |
| Ford's Garage | $50,000 | $3,703,800 to $6,618,000 | $885,000 | 30 |
| Applebee's | $35,000 | $3,870,004 to $5,822,933 | $870,000 | 1,507 |
| Texas Roadhouse | $40,000 | $3,894,500 to $7,901,500 | $980,000 | 638 |
| Outback Steakhouse | $40,000 | $4,303,000 to $8,419,000 | $1,065,000 | 688 |
| BK Lobster | $29,500 | $9,114,801 to $14,242,350 | $2,080,000 | 11 |
| Candy Cloud | $40,000 | $12,188,106 to $21,863,907 | $2,920,000 | 6 |
| Hop & Grape Taproom | $35,000 | $12,847,351 to $19,461,100 | $2,900,000 | 1 |
| Tomaso's | $50,000 | $28,378,455 to $87,936,518 | $8,655,000 | N/R |
| Green Mill On The Go | $15,000 | $60,202,329 to $99,884,503 | $14,025,000 | 4 |
| Kinya | $20,000 | Not reported | N/R | 4 |
N/R = not reported.
How do you compare franchises from this list?
Compare franchises from this list by putting each brand's Item 5 fee, Item 6 ongoing fees and the high end of the Item 7 investment side by side, then checking Item 20 for closures and transfers. The guide to franchise costs explains each line, and the 8-step selection process shows the order of due diligence.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a food & restaurant franchise cost?
Across 1213 brands in the SelectFranchiseList database (compiled October 2026), the median minimum initial investment is $297,082 and the median starting franchise fee is $35,000. The lowest starting investment in this group is Bento Sushi at $2,600.
How much cash do I need to buy a franchise in this group?
The median minimum liquid cash requirement in this group is $80,000. Franchisors set their own capital requirements, and lenders usually finance part of the total investment.
Are these figures guaranteed?
No. The figures come from franchise disclosure data and public listings and change with every annual FDD. Confirm fees in Items 5 and 6 and the investment in Item 7 of each brand's current FDD.
Other franchise industries
- Home Services franchises
- Fitness franchises
- Education & Children franchises
- Retail franchises
- Business Services franchises
- Other Franchise Businesses franchises
- Hotels & Travel franchises
- Healthcare & Senior Care franchises
- Beauty & Personal Care franchises
- Automotive franchises
- Real Estate franchises
- Pet franchises
Figures are compiled from franchise disclosure data and public listings as of October 2026 and may have changed. Brand names belong to their owners; listing does not imply endorsement. Not an offer to sell a franchise.